The Australian Elizabethan Theatre Trust
The Australian Elizabethan Theatre Trust
Supporting the Arts in Australia by Australians and for Australians since 1954.

Young Performers Awards in 2018

Posted on 13 Feb, 2018
Young Performers Awards in 2018

The Australian Elizabethan Theatre Trust (The Trust) is proud to be supporting the Young Performers Awards (YPA) in 2018. The competition is one of Australia’s most prestigious for young classical instrumentalists and has provided aspiring young musicians not only with the opportunity to perform with Australia’s major orchestras but exposure and financial assistance to further their careers.

The winner of the Young Performer of the Year title will recieve the $50,000 Australian Elizabethan Theatre Trust Scholarship, the $30,000 Sheila Walker Scholarship and named the ABC Classic FM Artist in Residence. The Young Performers Awards on offer total over $170,000 in prizes in 2018 including cash awards and performance opportunities.

The 2018 awards will be adjudicated by respected and internationally renowned musicians, conductors, educators and classical music experts including: Dene Olding AM (Concertmaster Emeritus of the Sydney Symphony Orchestra, first violin Goldner String Quartet and Australia Ensemble), Dr Di Bresciani OAM (Founder of the Youth Music Foundation), and Warwick D. Ross LLB (General Manager, The Australian Elizabethan Theatre Trust).

Since its inception in 1944, YPA has been presented in many formats launching the careers of some of the country’s most talented musicians. The competition has produced diverse and outstanding performances by notable names such as Charmian Gadd (violin, 1962), Roger Woodward (piano, 1964), Diana Doherty (Oboe, 1985) and Simon Tedeschi (Piano, 1998).

The Trust is very much looking forward to continuing its work in supporting the arts in Australia by Australians and for Australians through the Young Performers Awards.


Entries Close - 6th March, 2018



16th & 17th July, 2018

City Recital Hall, Sydney



24th July, 2018

Concert Hall, Sydney Opera House